Teaching is an Art Form

Edutopia  and TED Talks

That’s why I always say that teaching is an art form. It’s not a delivery system. I don’t know when we started confusing teaching with FedEx. Teaching is an arts practice. It’s about connoisseurship and judgment and intuition. We all remember the great teachers in our lives. The ones who kind of woke us up and that we’re still thinking about because they said something to us or they gave us an angle on something that we’ve never forgotten.  Sir Ken Robinson

We lost the art of teaching during the years of NCLB and within SUSD as we started to teach on day 1 of school.  We lost that sense of community and building relationships and transformed teachers into curriculum deliverers.  I frequently asked my principal to take off the handcuffs and allow me to teach or buy me a white coat as my classroom had been sanitized and sterilized.  I look forward to changes that Common Core will bring and hope that we are able to resurrect that art of teaching in the coming years.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *